Blogging, purpose of

Why do people blog? I mean really, Why? Is it just to have a journal or something, because the way I understand it  journals are private.

Do they have something they want to say? I’m assuming at least some people do, but does everyone? And if they do why don’t they say it to themselves? I’m not against blogging or anything like that, I’m just wondering if people just like the idea of having their stuff read by random strangers, which brings me to my next question. Is it just ‘cuz? Do people just like writing and want people to read it? I suppose I can see the appeal in that. Doing something and having other people take time out of their day to look at it can be rewarding. I guess. I don’t really ‘get’ blogging, but then I don’t really  get social networking  either. Moving on to why have one if I don’t ‘get it’…

Why I have  this blog, and update it occasionally.

I was searching the internet for pictures of Keira Knightley and came upon one I couldn’t get to without being logged in here. I didn’t have a blog at the time, so I made one. I didn’t get that picture I wanted, but now I have a new internet account to get used to. This is similar to the reason I have a Facebook, which is another story for another time.

I update this thing because I feel obligated. I don’t  really want to have an internet account I don’t  use, at least not a blog. I suppose I could always not have one, but at the I the time I got this blog I was curious. I’m still curious, so I still blog. Sort of. I’m not that good at it, but I’m new. I just really want to know why everyone else does it. No one has ever explained the appeal of blogging to me, so I want to know what other people get out of it, and why they blog in the first place.  I suppose it’s just my curiosity wandering over to a random subject and poking it. It tends to do that, which reminds of that quote my mother never told me the other half of. “Curiosity killed the cat.” She used to say that when  I started asking too many questions, or said that I was curious (about whatever) too many times. I found out much later that there’s comeback for that quote. “And satisfaction brought it back.”

It upsets me that I didn’t know the comeback until she stopped saying that.

Yes, I know I’m off topic, but my curiosity has gone off to poke something else.

Curiosity: What would happen if you did some work for a change instead of wasting time on the internet? *pokes*

One response to “Blogging, purpose of

  1. Pingback: There is a picture, but a cat is not in it. « Diyhades's Blog

Leave a Reply

